Image: War Pony

Established in 2007, the Feature Fiction Competition at the AFF was the first of its kind in Australia. The Competition celebrates bold storytelling, innovative filmmaking, and overall fabulous films. The AFF22 Feature Fiction Competition boasts nominated works from across the globe.

Entrants in 2022 include:

War Pony

Past winners of the AFF Feature Fiction Competition include:

  • Beginning, dir. Déa Kulumbegashvili (Georgia, France, 2020)
  • The Seen and Unseen, dir. Kamila Andini (Indonesia, Netherlands, Australia, 2018) 
  • I Am Not A WitchdirRungano Nyoni (France, United Kingdom, 2017)
  • Neon Bull, dirGabriel Mascaro (Brazil, 2015)
  • JîndirReha Erdem (Turkey, 2013)
  • IncendiesdirDenis Villeneuve (Canada/France, 2011)
  • Treeless MountaindirSo-yong Kim (USA/South Korea, 2009)
  • Still LifedirJia Zhangke (China, 2006)

Sponsored by