Adelaide Film Festival is proud to recognise excellence in screen storytelling with a host of well-regarded film festival awards. In previous years these have included awards across Feature Fiction, Documentary, Change, and career achievement.

The 2022 AFF Feature Fiction and Documentary competitions were decided by a prestigious jury. Their expertise covered a broad range of engagements with the screen, from writing, criticism, exhibition to production. Members of the 2022 jury included film critic Luke Buckmaster, associate professor and artist Ali Gumilya Baker, film programmer Jim Kolmar, producer Lisa Scott and New Zealand – Samoan director Tusi Tamasese.

Feature Film Award

Presented alongside several Audience Awards, AFF was the first Australian film festival to create a juried prize for best feature film. Our jury values idiosyncratic voices, bold storytelling, creative risk-taking and overall fabulous films.

The winner of the 2022 Feature Film Award, sponsored by Swarmer, is Autobiography, from Indonesian director Makbul Mubarek, and produced by Yulia Evina Bhara.

Read more about the Adelaide Film Festival Feature Film Award.

Documentary Award

The AFF Documentary Award celebrates distinctive factual filmmaking. Previous Jury members include Larissa Behrendt, Tania Nehme, Madeleine Parry, Molly Reynolds, Eva Orner, Michael Loebenstein, Jane Schoettle, Beck Cole and Kristy Matheson along with other distinguished practitioners and professionals.

The winner of the 2022 Documentary Award is The Hamlet Syndrome, directed by Elwira Niewiera and Piotr Rosolowski, and produced by Magdalena Kaminska, Agata Szymanska, Andreas Bank, Matthias Miegel, and Robert Thalheim.

Read more about the Adelaide Film Festival Documentary Award.

AFF Audience Awards

The AFF Audience Awards are voted for by film-goers, giving everyone who comes to the Festival a chance to champion their favourite films. There are three Audience Awards, in categories for feature fiction, documentary, and short film.

The winner of the 2022 Audience Feature Award is Ribspreader, directed by Dick Dale, and produced by Dick Dale, Carlo Petracarro, Jaan Ranniko, Jade Hefferan Clark, Tommy Darwin, and David Dollard.

The winner of the 2022 Audience Documentary Award is The Last Daughter, directed by Brenda Matthews and Nathaniel Schmidt, and produced by Simon Williams, Brendon Skinner, Kyle Slabb, Michael Tear, and Taryn Brumfitt.

The winner of the 2022 Short Film Award, sponsored by Flinders University is Are You Really The Universe?, directed by Tamara Hardman, and produced by Tamara Hardman and Sarah Wormald.

Read more about the Adelaide Film Festival Audience Awards.

Change Award

In 2020 AFF introduced the Change Award for positive social or environmental impact celebrates cinema that expresses a desire to live in new ways. The Change Award celebrates the feature that best demonstrates these values. In 2022, the Change Award is sponsored by Zambrero.

The winner of the 2022 Change Award is Luku Ngarra, directed by Sinem Saban, and produced by Sinem Saban and Rev Dr Djiniyini Gondarra OAM.

Read more about the Adelaide Film Festival Change Award.

Don Dunstan Award

With each edition of AFF, the Adelaide Film Festival Board presents the Don Dunstan Award in recognition of an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to Australian screen culture.

The recipient of the 2022 Don Dunstan Award is David Jowsey.

Read more about the Adelaide Film Festival Don Dunstan Award.

Bettison & James Award

Administered by Adelaide Film Festival, this annual award provides $50,000 in recognition of an exemplary and inspiring lifelong contribution to Australia for an individual working in any field.

The recipient of the 2022 Bettison and James Award is Pat Rix.

Read more about the Bettison & James Award.