University of South Australia Feature Fiction Competition


Paolo Bertolin


Sarah Perks


Scott Hicks

Paolo Bertolin is a festival programmer, film writer and producer. He currently serves on the selection committee of Directors’ Fortnight at Cannes Film Festival. For ten years he served as selector and regional consultant for Venice Film Festival. He has worked for IFFRotterdam, Doha Film Institute, Nyon Visions du Réel, and Hanoi IFF. Paolo’s production credits include Berlinale Competition films Big Father, Small Father and Other Stories (Phan Dang Di, Vietnam, 2015), Chitrashala (Amit Dutta, India, 2015) and A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery (Lav Diaz, Philippines, 2016).

Sarah Perks is a writer, curator and film producer specialising in artist film and performance, and is Artistic Director: Visual Art at HOME, Manchester, and Professor of Visual Art at Manchester School of Art, MMU. Sarah has worked extensively with renowned artists including Phil Collins, Rachel Maclean, Rosa Barba, Noor Afshan Mirza & Brad Butler, and Khalil Joreige & Joana Hadjithomas. Sarah established HOME Artist Film, the UK’s only specialist producer and distributor of artist feature film. She is co-director of Feature Expanded, a training programme for filmmakers with a background in visual arts.

An Emmy, Peabody and multiple AFI award-winning director, Scott Hicks has also been nominated for Academy Awards for Best Director and Best Screenplay. His box-office sensation Shine was nominated for 7 Academy Awards including Best Film. Following a series of Hollywood studio films, Scott directed and shot the documentary feature Glass: A Portrait of Philip in Twelve Parts, which was short-listed for Oscar® nomination and won the AFI Best Documentary Award.


Films in competition: The Ballad of Buster Scruggs, Beautiful Boy, Burning, Celeste, Capharnaüm, Emu Runner, Girl, Memories of My Body, ROMA, The Seen and Unseen

Flinders University Feature Documentary Competition


Larissa Behrendt


Tania Nehme


Madeleine Parry

Larissa Behrendt is a lawyer, writer, filmmaker and academic. She is the host of Speaking Out on ABC Radio and Distinguished Professor at UTS. Larissa won the ADG Award for Best Feature Documentary in 2018 for After the Apology.

Film editor Tania Nehme works across dramas, documentaries and hybrid experimental films. Her credits include Tanna (2015), which scored Australia’s first-ever Oscar nomination for Best Foreign Language Film. Tania has also edited numerous award winning films in her collaborations with Rolf de Heer, including Ten Canoes. Tania is currently working with L.A. based director Mark Webber on The Place of No Words, and with director Molly Reynolds on The Life and Life of David Gulpilil.

An award winning director, writer and producer of nuanced, challenging narratives for ABC (Maddie Parry, Corey White’s Roadmap to Paradise), SBS (The Goddam Election! with John Safran) and Netflix (Hannah Gadsby’s Nanette), Madeleine recently completed her first virtual reality work. Madeleine’s first documentary Murder Mouth won Best Film at Bondi, Cineglobe and Canberra Film Festivals, the Maddie Parry series was nominated for Best Documentary Series and her broadcast debut Meatwork was awarded Best Documentary (Standalone) by the Australian Director’s Guild.


Films in competition: América, Chris the Swiss, The Cleaners, Ex Shaman (Ex-Pajé), The Eyes of Orson Welles, Generation Wealth, Happy Sad Man, Putin’s Witnesses, Island of the Hungry Ghosts, Walden



Sue Austin


Mathew Tizard


Kim Batterham

Sue Austin is an internationally acclaimed multimedia, performance and installation artist. In repurposing her wheelchair to create fantastical art, Sue reshapes how we think about disability by creating quirky, unexpected juxtapositions-bringing a sense of empowerment to the discussion of disability & difference. Her Artwork has been viewed by over 433 Million people globally since 2012.

Mathew Tizard is a member of Google’s Global Creative Team, working as a Creative Technologist in the Asia- Pacific region. His academic background in Artificial Intelligence and the diversity of his role places him at the nexus of some of the most exciting, expressive and challenging technologies of our time, including Virtual and Augmented Reality. Mathew is a lifelong lover of cinema and is passionate about the storytelling potential of new mediums. Mathew made Minutiae (2000), a short film created with Electron Microscopy techniques.

Kim Batterham has been a director of photography for over 30 years and is Head of Cinematography at AFTRS. His extensive credits include feature films Shotgun Wedding (1993) and Closed for Winter (2006), TV series’ Foreign Exchange (2004), mini-series The Potato Factory (2000) and documentary series First Australians (2008). He was named ACS Cinematographer of the Year in 2000 and won an AFI Best Cinematography award for One Night the Moon (2001). His portrait work was hung by the National Photographic Portrait Gallery in 2009.

AFTRS logo

Films in competition: Borderline, Carriberrie, Dinner Party, Kobold, Parragirls Past, Present, Rooms, The Real Thing, The Unknown Patient, The Whale, Your Spiritual Temple Sucks