Celebrating the collision of story and new technology

In 2017 AFF created Australia’s first Virtual Reality Competition in a partnership with the Australian Film Television Radio School (AFTRS) in recognition of the burgeoning VR medium. We continue to grow interest and acclaim for VR works, showcasing the diverse, creative community of storytellers and technologists that work in this format.

Previous winners of the AFF VR Award were: 

  • The Unknown Patient, dir: Michael Beets (Australia, 2018) 
  • Nothing Happens, dirMichelle & Uri Kranot (Denmark, France, 2017) 

Past VR Jury members have included multi-media, performance and installation artist Sue Austin, Kim Batterham and Rachel Landers (AFTRS) and Mathew Tizard (Google).

Image: The Unknown Patient, dir: Michael Beets