With each edition of Adelaide Film Festival, the Board presents the Don Dunstan Award in recognition of an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to Australian screen culture.

In 2020 this prestigious award was presented to celebrated producer Bruna Papandrea.

As part of the Festival, Papandrea appeared In Conversation with AFF Patron Margaret Pomeranz. Their wide-ranging conversation dealt with topics such as the opportunities for advancing the status of women in film production, insights into the Australian and international industries, and what it takes to get you from Adelaide to the biggest companies in the world.

Read about Bruna Papandrea’s brilliant career in the essay One Step at a Time: Bruna Papandrea’s Walking Women.

Past recipients of the Don Dunstan Award include: 

  • Bruna Papandrea (2020)
  • Freda Glynn (2018)
  • Margaret Pomeranz and David Stratton (2017)
  • Andrew Bovell (2015)
  • Scott Hicks (2013)
  • Judy Davis (2011)
  • Jan Chapman (2009)
  • Rolf de Heer (2007)
  • Dennis O’Rourke (2005)
  • David Gulpilil (2003)