23 November 2022

Congratulations to the AFF22 selection films that have been nominated in the 38th Independant Spirit Awards!

Best Feature
“Bones and All” (MGM/United Artists Releasing)
“Tár” (Focus Features)

Best Director
Todd Field – “Tár” (Focus Features)

Best Lead Performance
Cate Blanchett – “Tár” (Focus Features)
Paul Mescal – “Aftersun” (A24)
Taylor Russell – “Bones and All” (MGM/United Artists Releasing)

Best Supporting Performance
Nina Hoss – “Tár” (Focus Features)
Mark Rylance – “Bones and All” (MGM/United Artists Releasing)

Best Breakthrough Performance
Frankie Corio – “Aftersun” (A24)

Best Screenplay
“Tár” (Focus Features) – Todd Field

Best First Feature
“Aftersun” (A24) – Charlotte Wells (director), Mark Ceryak, Amy Jackson, Barry Jenkins, Adele Romanski (producers)

Best Cinematography
“Aftersun” (A24) – Gregory Oke
“Tár” (Focus Features) – Florian Hoffmeister

Best Editing
“Aftersun” (A24) – Blair McClendon
“Tár” (Focus Features) – Monika Willi

Best International Film
“Joyland” (Pakistan/USA) – dir. Saim Sadiq
“Return to Seoul” (South Korea/France/Belgium/Romania) – dir. Davy Chou

After a voting period, the winners will be announced  on March 4, 2023

See the full list here.